... Pat Tielborg Wins 2017 Pipeline Leadership Award

Pat Tielborg Wins 2017 Pipeline Leadership Award

Pat Tielborg and his wife Julia at the Pipeline Leadership Award reception, Nov. 8, in Dallas.

Pipe Line Contractors Association Managing Director and General Counsel J. Patrick Tielborg has been named the recipient of the 2017 Pipeline Leadership Award. North American Oil & Gas Pipelines, a Benjamin Media Inc. publication, and Continuum Capital announced the award Nov. 8 at the third annual Pipeline Leadership Conference in Dallas, Texas.

/*** Advertisement ***/

Tielborg has been involved with the oil and gas pipeline industry for more than 40 years, starting as a laborer on the Trans-Alaska Pipeline System (TAPS) during summers of 1975, 1976 and 1977, while attending law school the rest of the time. He earned his law degree in 1978 and joined the Pipe Line Contractors Association (PLCA) that year as Executive Secretary. He has served as Managing Director and General Counsel of the since 1995.

Tielborg has led the PLCA through numerous negotiations with the four pipeline unions for both nationwide labor agreements and project-specific agreements covering many of the industry’s most significant projects. During his tenure, PLCA members have successfully built hundreds-of-thousands of miles of domestic pipeline.

Tielborg oversaw the formation of the PLCA Safety Committee to develop and promote safe working practices. PLCA also created a scholarship program that has awarded scholarships to more than 225 recipients.

“Pat has never sought personal recognition. Only Pat knows the innumerable grievances that he has resolved or the looming industry disputes that he has helped prevent,” according to a letter written on behalf of the PLCA Board of Directors by PLCA President Robert Osborn. “However, it is widely understood that under Pat’s leadership the industry has largely maintained labor peace — even through challenging times — providing an essential component to continued growth and job creation.

“After more than 40 years in the pipeline industry, Pat stands as one of the industry’s most respected leaders,” Osborn concluded.

North American Oil & Gas Pipelines created the Pipeline Leadership Award in 2015 to honor leadership initiatives and advances in the construction, operation and maintenance of oil and gas pipelines. This includes innovations in the construction process, design, procurement, contract administration, management, labor relations, training and safety that improve the global pipeline industry.

The Pipeline Leadership Award is presented each year at the Pipeline Leadership Conference, which is organized by North American Oil & Gas Pipelines and Benjamin Media Inc., in partnership with Continuum Capital. This year’s conference was held Nov. 8-9 at the Dallas/Plano Marriott in Texas.

The Pipeline Leadership Award is voted upon by the conference Program Committee, comprised of pipeline industry veterans. Additional finalists included Terry Boss, Senior Vice President of the Interstate Natural Gas Association of American (INGAA); Herb Fluharty of Mears (retired); and the Pipeline Safety Leadership Program initiated by Caterpillar, PipeLine Machinery and a group of the industry’s leading companies.

Past Pipeline Leadership Award winners are Chuck Shafer of NiSource Inc. in 2015 and Pat Michels of Michels Corporation in 2016. For more information about the Pipeline Leadership Award and the Pipeline Leadership Conference, visit www.plconference.com.

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed here.