... PLCA Elects Wise as New President at Florida Convention

PLCA Elects Wise as New President at Florida Convention

PLCA Elects Wise

2014 PLCA Board of Directors: (front row, from left) Bernie Bermack, Robert A. Riess Sr., Ronnie Wise, John Allen, Frank O. Welch and Kelly W. Osborn; and (back row, from left) Steven R. Rooney, Brian L. Ganske, Robert C. Osborn, Don W. Thorn, Dwayne Osadchuk, Christopher T. Leines and Jimmy L. Crotts.

Ronnie Wise, chief operating officer of Price Gregory International Inc., was elected 2014 president of the Pipe Line Contractors Association (PLCA) at the group’s 66th annual convention in Bonita Springs, Fla., Feb. 18-22. Wise has served on the PLCA board of directors from 2008 to present, being elected treasurer in 2011 and vice president in 2012 and 2013.


/*** Advertisement ***/






Incoming president Ronnie Wise with outgoing president John Allen.









The PLCA Convention took place at the Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort & Spa in Bonita Springs. There were 625 attendees. John Allen, of Pipe Line Constructors and 2013 PLCA president, chaired the meeting. The general business sessions featured a presentation by Jim “The Rookie” Morris, who tried out in his 30s and made it on to a Major League Baseball team, pitching for the Tampa Bay Devil Rays from 1999-2000; and a performance by the Capitol Steps, a Washington, D.C.-based group of former Senate staffers, who provide satirical comedy about U.S. politics.

PLCA Convention

John Allen and his wife Juliann got dressed up for the PLCA Convention.

There were numerous business meetings including the PLCA Scholarship Foundation and the World Federation of Pipe Line Industry Associations. Networking sessions at this year’s convention included breakfast each morning, evening receptions and dinners and a ladies’ luncheon. There was also a golf tournament held the last day. In lieu of an auction this year, a raffle was held for a Cadillac Escalade and a Corvette.

In addition to Wise being named 2014 president, the other officers named for 2014 were Frank O. Welch, Rockford Corp., as first vice president; Robert A. Riess Sr., Sheehan Pipe Line Construction Co., as second vice president; and Bernie Bermack, Pe Ben USA Inc., as treasurer. The new directors for 2014 are Brian L. Ganske, Snelson Cos. Inc.; Dwayne Osadchuk, Oz Directional Drilling; and Steven R. Rooney, Precision Pipeline LLC. The board of directors appointed Christopher T. Leines of Minnesota Ltd. LLC to a one-year term as the board’s 13th member.

The 2015 convention will be held Feb. 24-28 at the Park Hyatt Aviara in Carlsbad, Calif.

Photos courtesy of Ben Arnold

Cat pipelaying machine

Brad Olson, Caterpillar, presents John Allen with a commemorative Cat pipelaying machine.

Comments are closed here.